Modelling Workshop (phase 2)

Modelling icon
Monday, 25 January, 2021 - 15:00 GMT

Modelling conservation data: an online workshop with Linked Conservation Data

Dates: January 25-26, 2021
Time: 3:00pm-5:30pm GMT, 10:00am-12:30pm EST, 7:00am-9:30am PST

Day one

This online workshop took place over two half days in January 2021. On January 25, participants were introduced to the principles of data modelling, the CIDOC-CRM and its relationship to Linked Data as well as typical examples of data modelling in Conservation. Following this was a breakout session where groups of participants examined and modelled conservation treatment documentation. Please find the webinar session available for viewing below.

This workshop brought together technical expertise around Linked Data and Conservation Documentation. The workshop was free of charge and supported by a grant from the UK’s Arts and Humanities Research Council.

Webinar programme:
Introductory materials
Linked Conservation Data objectives and outcomes (Kristen St.John)
Linked Data overview (Athanasios Velios)
CIDOC-CRM ontology (Stephen Stead)

Day two

On January 26, Linked Conservation Data presented lectures on the data model being developed for a project pilot by the LCD Consortium on the ResearchSpace platform. This was followed by breakout group discussions in dataset signposting and levels of data modelling for conservation documentation. Please find the webinar session available for viewing below.

Webinar programme:
Linked Data for Conservation
Linked Conservation Data Pilot overview (Kristen St.John)
Linked Conservation Data Modelling (Alberto Campagnolo & Ryan Lieu)
ResearchSpace implementation (Athanasios Velios)